Skip to main content

Forums

Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Former-Member
Not applicable

Setting appropriate goals.

Hi everyone,

This is the first discussion I have started here. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for going about setting goals. I have never really had anything like a life plan. I will generally have a variety of things that I want to do if the opportunity arises but I am not really good at creating opportunity.

When I undertook CBT a couple of years ago I was encouraged to formulate goals using the SMART criteria. Which means that chosen goals are specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and timed. I find the idea of this somewhat inflexible and maybe too much about the destination and not enough about the journey.

I am wondering what others think. Is it necessary to have specific goals? If you set aside one goal because another more attractive prospect comes along is that a sign of lack of committment? 

Any comments will be appreciated.

28 REPLIES 28

Re: Setting appropriate goals.

Hi Carer101,

Thanks for posting this great question. Goals are a very interesting topic. For some people they are seen as essential for progress and for other they are simply more things to add to the 'To Do" list to look back on and feel guilty or like a failure.

Goals really are just a list of things to do and I agree to the extent that it is useful for many situations to have a goal, make a plan, take small steps, get feedback along the way, stay focused and achieve goal. Here is the problem with goals for me. Many people start with a list of goals that are physical or material and this is not really what motivates people, especially in the long term.