Skip to main content

Forums

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

LLJ
New Contributor

Narcissistic wife NPD - how can I protect my children

Hi Everyone, 

I'm new to SANE Australia and found it very helpful in some ways. Here's my story and I would like to hear you if you had the same or similar experience. 

My wife and I got together 6 years ago and we have a 4.5yo boy and 11 month old daughter. It is not a long relationship but we had a lot of arguments and fights.

Until very recently, I was taking an MBA class for The Responsible Leadership subject, they talked about Narcissistic leaders and it was the first time I was introduced to this kind of personality. I then didn't even think it would relate to my wife until I have a conversation with a legal support. After I described the reasons I want to separate from her, the legal support just said maybe she's a narcissist. This strikes me straight away and I started digging into more information about NPD. So far what I read sounds like a perfect match for my wife. Now I can understand why she did everything. But even I can understand why she did them, I cannot live with this anymore. 

With respect to the separation, my biggest concern is about my children. I knew she won't give up the custody of both children and it will be a difficult argument even in court. Neither I want to keep them completely away from their mother (which I think is a very cruel thing to do). We'll need to negotiate an arrangement for our children.