Skip to main content

Forums

Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Bluemoons
New Contributor

New post

Hi everyone.
Im new to this so I’ll start by saying I’m a 27 year old male. I guess I’ve come to this forum seeking help and finding ways to cope with my depression and anxiety. It’s taken me a long time to get around to seeking help. I guess the purpose of this is to see if any people have advise/strategies on how to manage depression and anxiety. I’ll start by saying that most days I feel quite depressed and with this comes some forms of Anxiety and even OCD. I often find that I go to bed very anxious not looking forward to the next day, as when that day comes I feel quite numb and in “slow motion” both physically and mentally. I find that being alone with my thoughts sends me down a spiralling staircase of negative thoughts including thoughts of wanting to commit suicide/die most days. I spend most days on my own and live on my own most of time. I often find that I don’t enjoy or seem motivated to participate in activities I previously enjoyed as a teenager/young adult. I don’t feel like chatting to anyone, as I don’t really have anyone close to me to chat about this issues with, therefore opening up to someone who isn’t fully trustworthy is quite difficult. My childhood/upbringing wasn’t easy, however I don’t think it was fully traumatic or one that would cause such symptoms I have in adulthood. I’ll leave it there as I often have a tendency to ramble on a bit. Any information or help would be great. 

5 REPLIES 5
nashy
Senior Contributor

Re: New post