Skip to main content

Forums

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Forum News and Updates

AirTrafficOne
Casual Contributor

The Title "MentalAs" is so inapprapriate

Why on earth does mental illness have to be treated in such a lighthearted and foolish way?  Which 25 year old clueless marketing graduate thought up "mentalas"?  "mental as" has been a derogatory term for many many years and is just inappropriate for any of us over 35.

Is cancer treated this way with "stupid names"?  No.  Nor are any other illnesses that I can think of.

I am a retired military officer with a 15 year diagnosis of bipolar and PTSD.  I am properly medicated, very cognisant of my conditions and high functioning with many fine friends and opportunities for travel.  I have a teenage son who I love.

We have to STOP talking about mental illness in such a "flippant and trivial" way to try and get attention from the "general public".  This approach is not doing any of us any favours.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: The Title "MentalAs" is so inapprapriate

The title spelling is wrong "inappropriate is more appropriate!

Yes, I think there are a terms in the area of MI that seem to stigmatise.

It is a difficult area, as it seems to imply a culture change and that would take time to find ways/things that will work. 

I had found the ABC program “Changing Minds” pretty confronting. So it is hard, even for the likes of me with A&D, to appreciate the full scope of MI, let alone those fortunate to not experience any form of it at all. 

Maybe we need to build into our culture more awareness, education and understanding of MI and for terms to have more compassionate (not patronising) meaning.